Skip to main content

The Democratic Republic of Congo is bounded to the northwest by the Central African Republic, to the northeast by Sudan, to the east by Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi and Tanzania, to the southeast by Zambia, to the southwest by Angola and to the west by the Republic of Congo. In its geography, the Congo river basin is important as it takes up 60% of the country’s surface. Margherita is the highest peak, at 5,109 meters above sea level. The main ethnic group is the Bantu and the most relevant economic sector is mining.