Skip to main content

In chapter twenty six of our collection we have gotten to know the region of Atacama. In order to see what and how much you have learned we recommend you go over the tips, summaries and answer a few check up questions.

Region of Atacama

– Its northern border is the region of Antofagasta, its southern border is the region of Coquimbo, its eastern border is Argentina and its western border is the Pacific ocean.
– Its population reaches 254,336 inhabitants, which equals 1.68% of the national total.
– The regional capital is Copiapo and administratively it is split into three provinces: Copiapo, Huasco and Chañaral.

Physical geography, hydrography and climate

– There are four basic forms of relief in this region: coastal plains, Coastal mountain range, transverse valleys and the Andes mountains.
– The hydro systems in this region are the Salado gully and Copiapo and Huasco rivers.
– There are four different types of climate in this region: coastal desert climate with abundant cloudiness, transitional desert climate, cold desert climate and high mountain tundra.

Economy, Bio-geography and tourist attractions

– The main regional economic activities are mining and agriculture.
– In the coastal desert sectors there are plant species such as the: Palo negro, Churco, Cacho de cabra y Salitre.
– A few of the tourist attractions of the city of Copiapo are the La Copiapo locomotive, the casa Viña de Cristo, the Catedral church and the Mineralogy museum.

«Authorized for publishing by Resolution Nº190 from June 12th 2008 by the National Office of State Borders and Boundaries. The publication and circulation of the maps that refer or are related to Chile’s boundaries and borders do not make a commitment on the part of the State of Chile, in accordance with Art. 2º, letter g) of the DFL (decree) Nº83 from 1979 by the Ministry of Foreign Relations»