Skip to main content

This is a continent located in the Earth’s Western Hemisphere. It stretches from the North Pole in the north to Cape Horn in the south, and is separated from Antarctica by the Drake Passage. Its limits are the Pacific Ocean to the west and the Atlantic Ocean to the east.

As it is the second largest landmass in the world after Asia, it is divided into three subcontinents: North America (24,346,000 km2), Central America and the Caribbean (758,154 km2), and South America (17,870,218 km2).

Surface Area: 42.974.372 km2
Population: 879.700.000 inhabitants.
Density: 20.4 inhabitants per km2.
Countries: 53 countries: Independent 35; semi-independent 1 and dependent 17.