Skip to main content

Also named the Antarctic Continent, it is located from 66°30′ southwards in the Antarctic Circle, which goes around the South Pole. It is surrounded by the southern extremes of the Atlantic, Pacific and Indian Oceans.
The seas that circle this continent, which are covered by floating ice or icebergs almost throughout the year, are the Weddell, Bellinghausen, Amundsen, Ross and Davis Seas. Antarctica is the fourth largest continent in the world, having an area of 14,200,000km2. However in winter its size doubles due to the large amount of sea ice which forms around it. It has neither a native nor a permanent population, but every year there are approximately four thousand people (scientists, technicians, soldiers and specialists from different disciplines) living and working in scientific research outposts.

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /www/wwwroot/ on line 13