Skip to main content

This country is located in the southern half of the Korean Peninsula. It has only one neighbouring state, the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, to the north. The rest of its borders are the Sea of Japan to the east, the East China Sea to the south, and the Yellow Sea to the west. Aside from its territory on the peninsula it also encompasses more than a thousand islands, some important ones being Jeju, Ulleung and Dokdo.

Korea’s geography is broken and mountainous. The Taebaek is the main mountain range, extending from north to south parallel to the eastern coast. Lowlands make up less than a fifth of the total area and are mainly located in the west along the coast.

South Korea is a nation with a growing, open, and highly industrialised economy. The main industrial sectors are textiles, metals, shipbuilding, automobile manufacturing, electronics, technology and chemicals. Interestingly, many Korean companies have become multinationals, such as Hyundai, Samsung, LG and Daewoo.

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /www/wwwroot/ on line 13