Skip to main content

This country is bounded to the northeast by Guatemala, to the north and east by Honduras (in those areas indicated by the General Peace Treaty of 1980). The rest of the eastern border is with Honduras. To the southwest it is bounded by Nicaragua on the shores of the Gulf of Fonseca and to the south by the Pacific Ocean.

Its climate is tropical, with a rainy and a dry season. Its inhabitants are of mixed indigenous, European and African descent.

Agriculture is the main base of El Salvador’s economy.

Executive power is exercised by a president, a vice president and a Council of Ministers. Legislative power is based in the Legislative Assembly (84 deputies) and Judicial power in the Supreme Court of Justice (15 magistrates).

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /www/wwwroot/ on line 13