Skip to main content

The territory of this continent spreads from Southeast Asia, through the Pacific Ocean, and up to America. The most important geographical features are located in the larger territories: Australia, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea.

Australia is covered by deserts, plateaus and mountains of low altitude, while the other two feature high peaks, plains and valleys. The highest peak in the continent is Mount Wilhelm (4,509 meters above sea level) in Papua New Guinea. The rest of Oceania comprises hundreds of volcanic or coral islands and atolls of small dimensions. The climate ranges from temperate in New Zealand to arid in Australia, and tropical and rainy throughout the rest of the islands.

The Countries

Australia, Fiji, Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, Kiribati, Micronesia, Nauru, New Zealand, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

The Population and Economic Situation

Oceania has approximately 33 million inhabitants in a small area of only 8,505,070 km2. The population is heterogeneous, due to the existence of European descendants, indigenous populations (belonging to different ethnic groups such as the Polynesians, Melanesians, Micronesians and Papuans), mixed populations and a minority of blacks and mulattos.
Economically, the continent shows sharp contrasts. Australia and New Zealand are developed, with stable economies, while the rest of the countries depend mainly on agricultural products. 

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /www/wwwroot/ on line 13